Author Topic: Restoration Difficulty Level  (Read 891568 times)

andyburns

• Associate Member
  • Platinum
  • New Zealand, Auckland, Drury
Restoration Difficulty Level
« on: April 15, 2013, 02:18:29 »
Hi all,

I am a rank amateur in terms of car restoration having refurbished a couple of W108's in my own garage.  Last year I took on a 1963 230sl thinking it would be about the same level of difficulty as the previous cars I have attempted.

I cant really put a finger on it but everything with this car seems to be either fiddly or much more difficult to get right resulting in vast sums of time an money being spent.   

Little things that I thought would take minutes, like the seized hinges, have taken days to resolve.  The only rust I have encountered seems to be in ridiculously hard to work on places.  Hairline stress cracks in the door frame.  The list goes on and on.

I am interested to here from other home restorers to see if this is a common experience or if I have just hit a 'bad luck' car.

I am sure I will get a really nice little sl out of the process but am starting to wonder if the reward will be worth the effort.

Cheers

Andy
Andy Burns, Auckland New Zealand
1963 230sl
1967 250s w108
1969 BMW 2002
2007 Mitsubishi i car

andyburns

• Associate Member
  • Platinum
Re: Restoration Difficulty Level
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2013, 02:29:40 »
Also interested to see what you guys thing about restored pristine examples over usable drivable ones.  I think I may have made a mistake in that after I purchased my 230 I couldn't resist but take bits off it before I had even driven 20 miles.   One part led to 2000.

I really wish I had driven it for a year now.  Perhaps I would have enjoyed it so much I may not have contemplated the restoration.  The attached pic is the day I purchased it.
1963 230sl
1967 250s w108
1969 BMW 2002
2007 Mitsubishi i car

DaveB

• Gold
  • Australia, Western Australia, Lathlain
« Reply #2 on: April 15, 2013, 03:10:45 »