Author Topic: Heater Core Clean up?  (Read 1021 times)

acbrock

• Senior
  • USA, CA, Santa Monica
Heater Core Clean up?
« on: November 18, 2023, 16:44:08 »
hi a couple of my total newbie questions.  So I got to heat of the car... The Heater Core.  I read so many times on this forum that the car seemed to have built around the Heater Core!  So I got mine out.  I am going to swing it by a Radiator shop and see what they think.  But honestly I am not sure what could go wrong with something like this.  As long as the valve work and fluid run thru it what else could be wrong? I know if it was a Radiator and it was all banged up but this seems so protected? I will attach a pic...

But my second question and it covers more than just this part.  So many times on this site I see the after pictures of peoples parts.  They look Brand New!  Is that just from crazy cleaning or should I be Painting these parts before I put them back in?  I can't find the post anymore but someone had a very weathered looking Core and then the after looked perfect?  If I should be painting would it just be an anti rush black paint? 
Thanks
Aaron
1966 230SL Automatic 717G Papyrus White "Minny"

BobH

• Gold
  • United Kingdom, England, MALDON
Re: Heater Core Clean up?
« Reply #1 on: November 18, 2023, 21:04:13 »
Many parts are painted satin black, either sprayed or hand painted, recommendations on here, Eastwood gets a lot of mentions in posts

https://www.sl113.org/forums/index.php?topic=32689.msg265842#msg265842
February 1965 230SL Automatic
UK delivered RHD
Papyrus white, blue hard top & hub caps
Blue soft top
Blue leather

Jonny B

• Pagoda SL Board
  • Platinum
  • USA, CA, San Marcos
« Reply #2 on: November 18, 2023, 22:50:52 »
Another potential issue with the cores are the mounting brackets on the sides of the core. These are prone to breakage, which is not a huge deal in and of itself, but it will leave the core with rattles and squeaks that can drive you a bit crazy.