Author Topic: Clunk Bushing Diagnosis?  (Read 745 times)

DaveinOC

• Junior Level
  • USA, CA, Anaheim
Clunk Bushing Diagnosis?
« on: June 22, 2023, 01:20:35 »
Hi alll,
I've been a member for quite a few years and have relied on the technical manual (thanks for the linkage tour!) and forums for a lot of information and tips. Sorry if this is a bit long, but I think I need to expalin a bit about me and my  230 SL. I worked as a mechanic for several years in an independent Mercedes ship when I was in college about 45-50 years ago! This was the late 1970s so we saw a lot of W113 types with things like blown head gaskets (most of the cars in SoCal have port/dealer added A/C - they had the dreaded blown "bypass" hose) but at that time they weren't wearing out the suspension parts.  I've owned this car for about 35 years now and have done all of the work myself.

I had my rear brake shoes relined and the drums turned aout 4 years but only a couple hundred miles ago. I noticed the car seemed to surge and the brakes grab when backing up. I've double checked and the shoes are installed properly, but the linings appear to not be wearing evenly (remember only a few hndred miles so they may not have fully seated yet) that I attribute to him maybe not arcing the shoes properly. That's not my real issue. I suspect that the shoes are grabbing in reverse. and that will go away when the shoes seat fully.