Author Topic: Pushing break pedal turns off radio  (Read 1499 times)

CDNWOLFBBQ

• Associate Member
  • Junior Level
  • Canada, Ontario, Innisfil
Pushing break pedal turns off radio
« on: September 07, 2022, 23:35:10 »
Hey everyone. I have a weird issue that has just started. It sounds like a short but I have no idea where to start. Here are the symptoms:  when I press the break pedal I loose the gas gauge and radio. Same if I try to use the turn signals. But the lights turn on and function normally (at least until I press the break). I have checked the tail lights and from what I can tell everything is functioning. Perhaps something under the dash?  I’m sorry for the youthful nature of the post. I’ve only just inherited this 65 and I’m new to Mercedes too. Thank you for any assistance!

roymil

• Senior
  • USA, TX, Austin
Re: Pushing break pedal turns off radio
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2022, 00:41:49 »
suggest you take a look at the schematic diagram in the technical manual and then start checking the wiring with a meter.   Since you are not blowing fuses I'd start looking for loose or broken ground return wires someplace.
Mark Miller
1968 280SL
Rode in his pagoda's first mile.

Todd

• Associate Member
  • Senior
  • USA, SoCal
« Reply #2 on: September 08, 2022, 00:47:29 »
As roymil states, you have a failed ground connection.  So what's happening is that when you apply more load to the circuit (brake light bulb elements and turn signal elements inside the bulbs, use more current, which in turn, requires more current flow to ground.....and so you lose the radio and fuel gauge, which must be sharing those ground connections.