Author Topic: Vinyl Application on Soft Top Front Cross Member  (Read 1487 times)

Pawel66

• Platinum
  • Poland, Mazowieckie, Konstancin-Jeziorna
Vinyl Application on Soft Top Front Cross Member
« on: January 01, 2022, 12:46:05 »
Kindly requesting support: any practical hints/tips on application of a new vinyl covering on soft top front cross-member?

Need to do it myself as it seems - lead-times with upholsterers in the area are 12-18 months to do any job... I have some experience in leather or MB tex fitting, but not vinyl.

I decided to go ahead with some work on the soft top to try to eliminate the V-shaped elbows above the side windows. Replacing the vinyl will be a part of that effort (also: it looks quite worn). I will also need to replace the straps, tensioning wires and side seals.

I wish I bought the straps form mrfatboy - I simply did not realize I needed them when they were available.
Pawel

280SL 1970 automatic 180G Silver
W128 220SE
W121 190SL
G-class

cfm65@me.com

• Associate Member
  • Gold
  • Mossel Bay, South Africa
Re: Vinyl Application on Soft Top Front Cross Member
« Reply #1 on: January 01, 2022, 16:59:37 »
Hi Pawel,
Your experience working with leather and MB Tex, will stand you in good stead.
Vinal is much easier because it stretches easily and it is much cheaper, if you make a mistake.
Cheers
Chris
Cape Town
28 Ford Model A Pickup
29 Chevy Phaeton
67 E Type FHC
67 250SL 5 speed
83 911SC
2015 VW T5 California Pop Top

Pawel66

• Platinum
« Reply #2 on: January 01, 2022, 17:27:02 »
Thank you!

You use the same type of glue as for leather or MB tex?
Does using of the hot air blower help if need be?
Pawel

W128 220SE
W121 190SL
G-class

Shvegel

• Associate Member
  • Platinum
  • USA, OH, Cleveland Heights
« Reply #3 on: January 08, 2022, 12:46:43 »