Author Topic: Seeking opinions on using an SL as a "daily driver"  (Read 2837 times)

Scott

Seeking opinions on using an SL as a "daily driver"
« on: October 22, 2021, 17:13:47 »
I am new to this SL Forum, and I am interested in buying my first SL to use as my "every day car". I would be driving in California (usually great weather and salt free roads) and a totoal of ~45 miles per day to/from my office (~14,000 miles a year). Mostly freeway miles. Is this something that is generally not advisable, and if so, why? If it is advisable, what can one expect to proactively maintain and ensure the car remains in reliable working order, and what should be budgeted for such maintenance? Alternatively, I am considering the car as a weekend driver, but would much prefer to embrace and enjoy the car every day. Thank you.

Iconic

• Platinum
  • USA, IL, Highland Park
  • ex-Membership Administrator
Re: Seeking opinions on using an SL as a "daily driver"
« Reply #1 on: October 22, 2021, 18:02:43 »
Are you aware that this car has mechanical lifters, I believe they need adjustment every 15k miles, and it also has about 21 grease fittings. I also believe it requires points, plugs, cap, and rotor every 15k also. The normal service is not difficult, just more time consuming than a modern car. Based on how much you drive, it sounds like one major service per year will be good for you.
1970 280 SL Automatic, USA version, Grey-Blue (906G/906G), Blue leather (245)
1968 SS396 Camaro Convertible (owned since 1977 -- my first car :D)
1984 Porsche Euro Carrera coupe, LSD, SlateBlueMet/Blue
1998 BMW M-Rdstr Estoril Blue
1970 280 SL Automatic, Anthracite Grey-173G, Red Interior-132 - sold

Cees Klumper

• Platinum
  • USA, CA, De Luz and Los Angeles
    • http://SL113.org
« Reply #2 on: October 22, 2021, 18:16:09 »