Author Topic: Taillights  (Read 1914 times)

John Betsch - "SADIE"

• Pagoda SL Board
  • Silver
  • USA, NY, SOUTHOLD
Taillights
« on: October 08, 2021, 13:31:20 »
At a recent Concours, I was told my taillights are not correct for a Germany car, and that they should have amber.  I believe the judge (who happened to be from Italy and thinking an Italy car) was incorrect and according to the Tech Manual all red is proper.  My taillight is shown on the attached picture.  I just want to get some confirmation from our expert members.

jb
JB; 1965 German market SL, Rot Met 571, Summary Code 213 Interior

MikeSimon

• Platinum
  • USA, OH, North Royalton
Re: Taillights
« Reply #1 on: October 08, 2021, 14:00:07 »
I am far from an expert, but my 1971 280SL is a German spec car and has never been changed. The turn signal part of the taillight is indeed yellow/amber
I always was of the opinion that turn signals lenses in Germany must be yellow according to the law. That's why many private US imports with red lenses have to be changed.
1970/71 280SL Automatic
Sandy Beige
Parchment Leather
Power Steering
Automatic
Hardtop
Heated Tinted Rear Window
German specs
3rd owner

mdsalemi

• Pagoda SL Board
  • Platinum
  • USA, NC, Davidson
« Reply #2 on: October 08, 2021, 14:26:29 »
I am far from an expert, but my 1971 280SL is a German spec car and has never been changed. The turn signal part of the taillight is indeed yellow/amber
I always was of the opinion that turn signals lenses in Germany must be yellow according to the law. That's why many private US imports with red lenses have to be changed.

Weren't all, by 1971, changed from all red to red/amber? My {January build, USA spec] car came with red/red, but I changed to red/amber, merely for my perceived concept of safety. Amber had long dominated all road cars by the time my restoration got its first license plate in 2001.
Michael Salemi
Davidson, North Carolina (Charlotte Area) USA
1969 280SL (USA-Spec)