Author Topic: WRD Disassembly Question  (Read 2185 times)

Worldflier

WRD Disassembly Question
« on: April 22, 2021, 00:01:22 »
Good day,

I’ll start today by admitting I am a newbie to both these cars and the forums (tho I owned and extensively wrenched on a carbureted W108), so I apologize ahead of time if I step on any toes. I also was unable to figure out how to add my question to previous discussions on the WRD.

I have been able to remove the WRD from the car and am trying to figure out how to remove the stuck plunger from the housing.

It appears that the little black pin needs to be removed, and then somehow to back out the silver pin holding the top of the plunger. Does anyone know how this is held in? A discussion with a mechanic lead to the idea it may have had a nut that is broken off. Any help is greatly appreciated. Pics to follow.
Thanks! Dre

Benz Dr.

• Vendor
  • Platinum
  • Canada, ON, Port Lambton
  • Benz Dr.
Re: WRD Disassembly Question
« Reply #1 on: April 22, 2021, 01:52:33 »
Don't worry too much about removing the slide valve. Use some penetrant to free it up by moving it up and down in its bore. I use a bit of brake grease to lube the valve before assembly. Use sealer under the thermostat to prevent leaking.
1966 230SL 5 speed, LSD, header pipes, 300SE distributor, ported, polished and balanced, AKA  ''The Red Rocket ''
Dan Caron's SL Barn

1970  3.5 Coupe
1961  190SL
1985   300CD  Turbo Coupe
1981  300SD
2013  GMC  Sierra
1965  230SL
1967 250SL
1970 280SL
1988 560SEC

stickandrudderman

• Vendor
  • Platinum
  • United Kingdom, England, Richmond
    • http://www.colinferns.com
« Reply #2 on: April 22, 2021, 10:39:46 »
See if you can find someone with an ultrasonic bath and clean it in that. Should come up like new and free up the seized piston too.

ja17

• Platinum
  • USA, OH, Blacklick
« Reply #3 on: April 22, 2021, 14:46:30 »