Author Topic: Tweny year-old Questions  (Read 2941 times)

DavidAPease

• Silver
  • USA, CA, Chico
Tweny year-old Questions
« on: March 10, 2021, 05:05:06 »
Hi, all,

I was recently cleaning up some files from an old computer when I came across the draft of my first post to Rodd Masteller's original Yahoo Group (the forerunner and inspiration to this club).  It was in March of 2001, and I introduced myself and my car, including some  information that I later found to be incorrect.   ???  I was a real newbie to Pagodas, and there were not as many online resources as there are today.

In that post, I attached two photos, and asked for answers/guesses as to what the purpose of the items in the photos was.  I should say that my 1966 230SL was originally delivered in Paris, and spent it first 3 decades in France and Monaco; it came with yellow headlight bulbs and amber reverse lenses.  I believe that the two items are related to the fact that the car is French.

There were guesses, but no definitive answers.  We now have a much larger and more international groups, and I'm curious as to whether I might get definitive answers to those two questions 20 years later.   :)

The photo below shows a cylindrical plastic object near the battery that (IIRC) was connect inline with the battery ground, with a sort of knob on top; turning the knob did not appear to do anything.  (My mechanic long ago disconnected it, so I can't be sure how it was connected.)  It has some French printing embossed on top that I believe I have deciphered to the point where I know what it is for, but am not certain.  I recently saw a photo of Pawell's battery that looked like it might have a similar device near it (though it was very different looking); this piqued my curiosity anew.