Author Topic: Chrome Dash Air Vent  (Read 1967 times)

balimatharu

• Senior
  • United Kingdom, England, Coventry
Chrome Dash Air Vent
« on: January 25, 2021, 19:45:04 »
I thought this might be helpful for someone who is repairing the broken studs on the chrome vents.
I just successfully rebuilt the retaining studs.
I used dental titanium pins and epoxy resin. Instead of epoxy, dental filling composite could be used.
Just need to drill down about 1.5 mm and thread in the pins using finger and thumb.
I have taken a few photos which explains the procedure.
I previously used the same procedure to enhance the indicator cancelling mechanism.
By the way I am a dentist. We use these pins frequently in the teeth.
I have more than four photos. I will make two posts.

Bali

balimatharu

• Senior
Re: Chrome Dash Air Vent
« Reply #1 on: January 25, 2021, 19:49:18 »
Some more photos

col320ce

• Gold
  • Australia, Victoria, Glen Iris
« Reply #2 on: January 31, 2021, 12:08:28 »
Great idea ... I am fortunate enough to be able to lay my hands on that material too.  I have a few which need repairing ...
Col

1964 230SL
1965 250SE coupe
1993 320CE Sportline

stickandrudderman

• Vendor
  • Platinum
  • United Kingdom, England, Richmond
    • http://www.colinferns.com
« Reply #3 on: January 31, 2021, 21:19:54 »
Good idea. Have you managed to replicate the original doametr of the pins? They look a little larger than original.

balimatharu

• Senior
« Reply #4 on: February 03, 2021, 20:45:15 »
I have done the second one. This time I used composite light cure. This is stronger than epoxy and cures in 30 seconds to full strength. I have taken a photo of the completed job and I have fitted it as well.
Of course similar pins were used.
Rubbed down to fit. Fitted well.

Pawel66

• Platinum
  • Poland, Mazowieckie, Konstancin-Jeziorna
« Reply #5 on: February 03, 2021, 20:51:29 »