Author Topic: Interior Questions  (Read 1661 times)

LA 280SL

Interior Questions
« on: October 20, 2020, 15:40:14 »
I made a post a few days ago about receiving a 69 280SL from a family friend (widow) with the charge to perform a renovation, level of such to be determined.  The car is a USA spec model.

This is my first exposure to the MB line of classics so I look forward to learning from you all and tapping into your experience. 

While I’m just beginning to look things over in the interior, there are a couple initial questions I have. 

1.  What is the purpose of the knob and small compartment behind the ashtray in the center storage piece?  The knob lifts up and turns about 1/8 twist, but it does not appear to be attached to anything.  The black rectangular compartment does not move, lift or hinge.   

2.  This toggle switch is mounted below dash, right about at the right knee. By looking at the wiring leading from it (I have not traced it yet), it appears after market to me.  I also have yet to flip it up or down with the car running, fear of  the unknown!

3.  All four of the AC-Heat control tabs are broken off and need replacement.  When on line searching, I see multiple colors of what appear to be the same part.  What’s this about?

4.  I see the wood speaker cover on the center of the dash In pictures is a raised platform with raised ribs on top of that. This speaker cover appears to be original, but is a completely different design.  No raised horizontal ribbing. 

Thanks fellas.

« Last Edit: October 20, 2020, 15:49:46 by LA 280SL »

mrfatboy

• Associate Member
  • Platinum
  • USA, CA, Rancho Santa Fe
    • Mrfatboy
Re: Interior Questions
« Reply #1 on: October 20, 2020, 16:01:38 »
Here you go.

1. Rear window defroster

2. Maybe a homemade CSV toggle switch. This is used to aid in starting. It’s wired to the CSV on the right side of engine. It provides extra fuel when activated. Search these forums. There is much info on it.