Author Topic: Warm Start Problems  (Read 1616 times)

joe texas

Warm Start Problems
« on: February 15, 2019, 20:09:24 »
I have '64 230SL  and I was hoping I could get some help.  The car starts great when its cold, but with a warm engine is different.  If its warm I was told by a mechanic, to fully depress the gas and then crank the engine until it starts.  It starts but it will take 15-20 seconds.  I wonder if I am doing damage to the starter and if it is an indication of something wrong.  Has anyone else had this problem and what did you do to solve it.  Thanks

Pawel66

• Platinum
  • Poland, Mazowieckie, Konstancin-Jeziorna
Re: Warm Start Problems
« Reply #1 on: February 15, 2019, 22:17:25 »
I am not a mechanic, but having experienced a very similar issue I did some studying on this forum to find the potential reasons.

I suggest you perform search (right hand side, top window, type in "warm start" or "warm start problem") and you will find lots of information on potential causes and solutions. It is fairly common issue.

I think the way to start the car when warm is to depress gas pedal about 1/3 and crank.

Are you sure the car is overall in tune? Mixture, ignition, spark plugs, etc. - all this is ok? If so, then I can think of a couple of points.

After 10 or 15 seconds of cranking I would stop and screw out a plug to see if it is wet or dry. If wet - the issue may be electric, then you go the usual way about checking electrical components. This may be confirmed with a gasoline smell after this time of cranking. If spark plug is dry, this may indicate fuel delivery issue. The engine is in a very lean conditoin in this state and fuel delivery disturbances are making it even leaner, causing start difficult.

Sometimes it can help to determine if the issue is fuel when you just switch the ignition, but do not crank for 30-40 seconds. If car starts nice then - the fuel pump managed to fill the fuel delivery lines so the fuel is available.