Author Topic: Failed idle emissions test  (Read 5656 times)

ting

Failed idle emissions test
« on: August 31, 2010, 03:27:10 »
Hi, newbie here and this is my first post.

I'm based in Vancouver BC and recently imported a fully restored '71 280SL from a reputable dealer in San Diego.  Being more than 25 years old qualifies the car to have historic plates.  But the car still has to pass the idle emissions test first to qualify which regrettably it failed miserably.  We call it AirCare Vehicle Inspection Report here in BC.

Is this something easily rectified?  Has anyone ever done this before and what are the standards for other states/provinces?

I can smell mixture is quite rich.  Can anyone recommend a reputable shop in Vancouver area?

Figures as follow:
Hydrocarbons ppm:  allowable 1004, average 202, my reading 1987
Carbon monoxide %:  allowable 5.15, average 2.32, my reading 9.99

Thanks in advance.

mdsalemi

• Pagoda SL Board
  • Platinum
  • USA, NC, Davidson
Re: Failed idle emissions test
« Reply #1 on: August 31, 2010, 12:11:31 »
ting,

Sounds like your FI pump and linkages could use a once over to set up properly.  If done by a "reputable shop" in San Diego, perhaps he should have known better.  I believe the procedures are in our Tech Manual but you may have to be a full member to access.

The generally runs on the rich side anyway, and very rich at cold idle while the cold start injector is engaged.  I sure hope they let the car warm up first.

BTW must sensible states here waive any kind of emissions testing for "antique" vehicles.
Michael Salemi
Davidson, North Carolina (Charlotte Area) USA
1969 280SL (USA-Spec)
Signal Red 568G w/Black Leather (Restored)
2023 Ford Maverick Lariat Hybrid "Area 51"
2022 Ford Escape Hybrid
2023 Ford Escape Hybrid

Cees Klumper

• Platinum
  • USA, CA, De Luz and Los Angeles
    • http://SL113.org
« Reply #2 on: August 31, 2010, 20:04:44 »