Author Topic: Calling for advice from married men about ring wearing  (Read 24053 times)

waltklatt

• Associate Member
  • Platinum
  • USA
Calling for advice from married men about ring wearing
« on: June 11, 2009, 19:11:52 »
I'm recently married and have run into a bit of a quandary.
When working on the cars or doing carpentry, or in general working with the hands. 
Does one take the ring off to preserve it from being scratched, damaged or else?
I'm a little new to this and thought I'd seek some advice from the pros out there.

I feel a bit awkward wearing the ring while doing repairs or hitting the weight machines at the gym.

Walter just married
1967 220SL-diesel

dtuttle123

Re: Calling for advice from married men about ring wearing
« Reply #1 on: June 11, 2009, 19:52:47 »
Hi Walter -

Tons of advice here - first - if you take it off - don't loose it - put it in the tool box, with a zip-wrap tied to the box.  Second, explain to your (new) wife that you are taking it off only to work on the car, and not because you don't love her, or want to appear not married.  Third, you'll only have to worry about this for a year, and then it becomes a part of you, like your new wife!   ;D

Doug

scoot

• Platinum
  • USA, CA, Altadena
« Reply #2 on: June 11, 2009, 20:11:16 »
I'm married and I don't take off my ring for anything because if I did I think I would lose it.  I made the choice that scratches to the ring are going to occur and that it isn't supposed to look like it just came out of a box.   For some things I wear work gloves over the ring.  My husband on the other hand doesn't wear a ring so he doesn't have this issue.

Scott
Scott Allen
'67 250 SL (early)
Altadena, California

J. Huber

• Platinum
  • USA, CA, Cedar Ridge
« Reply #3 on: June 11, 2009, 21:05:33 »