Author Topic: Looking for Advice  (Read 1865 times)

Jlau

• Inactive
  • Junior Level
  • USA, NC, Hillsborough
Looking for Advice
« on: October 15, 2021, 13:18:07 »
Hello! My name is John and I live in North Carolina, USA.

I am a retired police officer.  After I retired, I worked the last six years managing a classic car collection for a gentleman in Durham, NC.  Most of his cars were from the 50s and early 60s.  Unfortunately, he passed away last year, and the collection was liquidated. Just for fun, you can view the collection by Googling “Mecum Kissimmee, 2021.”  Look on the left-side of the page for the Mark Jacobson Dream Machines Estate Collection. We mostly restored the cars’ interiors, under the hood and in some cases did some paint work. We did not do any frame-off restorations, although prior owners did that on some of the cars.

Now to the point of this post. A friend of mine has asked me to help him sell a 1967 Mercedes 250SL that he inherited from his father-in-law.  He needs the money to help pay for his mother-in-law’s health care. I have attached a few photos.  It looks very original. Although I have not seen it in person, I would label this car a “survivor,”.  The only thing that does not look original is the radio. I am willing to invest my money in this car to increase the value and sell it at auction. The question is how much to invest, and what will my investment dollars realistically bring me in return?   

Anyway, I know very little about these cars (except what I have discovered on- line), and would greatly appreciate any and all feedback you can give me regarding the car’s originality, current value and possible value after my investment.  I am not considering a frame-off restoration, but I would like to make the interior look new or close to it, and do under the hood as well. Or, should I just do a deep cleaning and detail, sell it as a “survivor,” and let someone else do the work?