Author Topic: Ebay 113s  (Read 6002 times)

zanone

Ebay 113s
« on: July 05, 2004, 17:41:23 »
Looking to buy an nice 280SL on Ebay and want to know if anyone has any opinions of cars sold by Schmitt Motors. They have top dollar cars which I'm willing to pay for an nice one but want to make sure they are  reputable other than positive feedback. I will fly to St. Louis before I buy and check the car myself. Thanks in advance, DZ

Kenneth Gear

• Silver
  • USA, VA, Fairfax Station
Re: Ebay 113s
« Reply #1 on: July 06, 2004, 06:26:04 »
I have no direct experience with them but have heard some reasons to be cautious.

I would place a call to the MO Attorney General's office.
Ken G
1971 280 SL Silver/red

zanone

« Reply #2 on: July 06, 2004, 06:51:03 »
quote:
Originally posted by Kgear

I have no direct experience with them but have heard some reasons to be cautious.

I would place a call to the MO Attorney General's office.

They look like they have some nice 113s and have good feedback. I will fly there to see the cars before I buy. MO AG sounds serious. Thanks, DZ

jbrowder

« Reply #3 on: July 06, 2004, 07:16:40 »
There are 2 Schmitt Motors, Daniel and Charles, I think they may be father and son.  They have been in business a long time.  My dealings were with Daniel Schmitt Motors.  They always have a lot full of cars, and the inventory does seem to turn...so they must sell cars.  Most of their cars are auction cars, so there are some jewels and there are some pigs, buyer beware.

My experience was on a late model Porsche, and the car was alright, but the dealings were unsatisfactory and we never closed the deal.  You should check the BBB, and there also are several interesting stories on Rennlist.

Inspect the car thoroughly, and get everything in writing.

rwmastel

• Platinum
  • USA, OH, Canal Winchester
  • Pagoda SL Group: 20+ years and going strong!
« Reply #4 on: July 09, 2004, 18:54:09 »
quote:
Originally posted by zanone