Author Topic: New member introductions  (Read 820412 times)

sledge4.2

• Junior Level
  • USA, CA, Mill Valley
Re: New member introductions
« Reply #1575 on: April 08, 2024, 14:53:57 »
Hello all - First post on this forum, looks like a great treasure-trove of resources.

I am helping a friend of mine place a value on his 280SL Pagoda, and was wondering if there is an expert or someone that does regular valuations of these cars.  I plan on searching the site extensively to learn more about these very special cars, but hoping someone can jump start my search. 

I am a decent shade-tree mechanic and have been working on and restoring 80-90's Italian cars, so this platform is brand new to me but cool cars are not!

Thank you in advance for any help you can give me, and I am happy to post as much details on the car as i can.

Thank you!!
Geno

alabbasi

• Junior Level
  • USA, TX, Carrollton
Al in DFW TX
« Reply #1576 on: April 16, 2024, 01:37:19 »
All, my name is Al and I have a 1970 280SL California Coupe. My experience with car has been bitter sweet. I bought it about 15 years ago from an elderly gentleman who imported it from Germany before retiring sometime in the 80's. He was driving it home and rear ended a car smashing the front, then left it to sit for about 20 years. I took it to a restoration shop who turned out to be dishonest and after getting the car back, we found that a lot of the repairs he claimed and charged for, was actually just cover up with bondo so I ended up having to redo the work.