Author Topic: Octane rating  (Read 1343 times)

zak

• Silver
  • USA, NJ, Bernardsville
Octane rating
« on: July 10, 2023, 19:46:35 »
I have been using 91 octane regularly for the last 20 years in my 250 SL.
Recently I filled up at a Sunoco gas station that had 93 octane gas so I tried it.
Tank too about 16 gallons.
After that the engine felt a bit more responsive and eager  and revved a bit free-er.
Am I just hallucinating or does the higher octane fuel make a difference ?

jz 
1967 250 SL
1983 280 SL
2015 ML 250 Bluetec
2007 ML CDI
2004 E 320 Wagon
1999 E300 Turbodiesel

Bonnyboy

• Gold
  • Canada, BC, North Vancouver
  • 1969 280sl Euro 4sp LSD
Re: Octane rating
« Reply #1 on: July 10, 2023, 20:39:02 »
I think it does. 

I am more concerned about ethanol in the fuel so when I fill up in the USA, I buy the only ethanol free fuel available locally which is 89 octane.  After going through a tank of that I find a definite difference in performance and knocking with the lower octane fuel.  Once I fill up with the Canadian 94 octane ethanol free fuel, my car becomes happy again.   
Ian
69 280SL
65 F-100
73 CB750K
75 MGB
78 FLH
82 CB750SC
94 FLHTCU
08 NPS50

mdsalemi

• Pagoda SL Board
  • Platinum
  • USA, NC, Davidson
« Reply #2 on: July 10, 2023, 22:07:34 »
Last time I used "regular" fuel, 87 octane by USA standards, my Pagoda sure let me know how cheap I was, and voiced its displeasure. Since that time, I've always used premium which is generally 91. More recently the I've found some mid-grade, 89 octane and I didn't get too many complaints. So yes, Zak, I think you were not dreaming.

"Rec gas" is easy to find here in the Carolinas, what with hundreds of NASCAR drivers and thousands that THINK they are not to mention so many boats around the lake here. That's a/k/a ethanol free. It is quite a bit more costly. It was harder to find when I lived in Michigan (something peculiar about driving 15 miles to get fuel...) thus never used it.