Author Topic: Hello from new member  (Read 6365 times)

zak

• Silver
  • USA, NJ, Bernardsville
Hello from new member
« on: August 17, 2015, 22:04:27 »
I just joined the group after reading for a few months.
I find the issues raised and topics discussed here very interesting.
I have a 1967 late model 250 SL, 4 spd that was originally sold in France and brought to the US in the 1980's. No side markers and had the yellow headlight bulbs in the euro lenses that came with the car.
By no means concours ,but presentable and a great driver in Horizon Blue with dark blue interior that I throw around the hills on NJ on the weekends. I have owned her for 25+ years.
I have been an MB guy forever after I graduated from Alpine Sunbeams and Rover 2000TC's.
I have no real technical problems at all with the car, but I only drive the car maybe 500 miles per year. Not enough!
I am planning some improvements to spruce up the car - new soft top, tighten up the window lifts that rattle so much and maybe new seat surfaces. The seats are in OK shape, no tears or rips and look like old style MB Tex, but I can't tell for sure. It's a smooth surface, not like the textured MB Tex of later years. Or should I save the originals? Likewise the fire wall. It's the original for sure and in decent shape. Should I replace just to look clean and new? Or preserve?
From what I read here you guys know your 113's from all over the world.
Good to be on board.
thanks

jz
1967 250 SL
1983 280 SL
2015 ML 250 Bluetec
2007 ML CDI
2004 E 320 Wagon
1999 E300 Turbodiesel

Rolf-Dieter ✝︎

• Platinum
  • Canada, ON, London
    • Best Pagoda Site second to none!
Re: Hello from new member
« Reply #1 on: August 17, 2015, 22:46:46 »
Welcome to our mids JZ, glad you have found us after all those years that you own this fine car.

You will find a great and helpful cross-section of Full Members here. We are truly International.