Author Topic: Carpet Replacement  (Read 8363 times)

n/a

Carpet Replacement
« on: March 06, 2003, 06:24:37 »
Gentlemen,
I plan to replace my carpet, but I have no experience in replacing that on the back of the seats. I will remove the seats, but what is involved (what are the steps) to replace these 2 pieces.
Thanks,

Regards,
Stan

Douglas

Re: Carpet Replacement
« Reply #1 on: March 07, 2003, 23:25:08 »
the first place i'd start is with a phonecall to GAHH. ask them how they sell those particular pieces & i'm sure they can tell you how to proceed. (visit GAHH.com)

sorry i couldn't be more specific, but i'm positive these guys will know.

hands_aus

• Platinum
  • Australia, Queensland, Brisbane
« Reply #2 on: March 08, 2003, 04:56:17 »
Hey Stan,
When you have the seat removed from the car you will find that the back of the seat has a number of screws at the bottom edge. Remove the screws and the back will easily slide out.
The carpet seems to be mounted on a cardboard type backing and is usually the same carpet as the floor etc.
This arrangement is used to hold the vinyl/leather of the seat back, in place.
regards

Bob(Brisbane,Australia)
Bob Smith (Brisbane,Australia)
RHD,1967 early 250 SL #114, auto, ps , 717,717
best of the best

n/a

« Reply #3 on: March 08, 2003, 07:44:07 »
Bob,
Thanks.
Douglas,
I have called GAHH about buying the carpet and also some leather. However, they told me that they are not a retail outfit and will sell only to businesses. Although other members of the Yahoo group recommended them, I could not get them interested in dealing with me. Perhaps, they would answer some questions.

Regards,
Stan

n/a

« Reply #4 on: March 08, 2003, 08:17:47 »
Stan: