Author Topic: 1969 280SL automatic transmission issue  (Read 8483 times)

Valvechatter

1969 280SL automatic transmission issue
« on: October 27, 2013, 01:53:04 »
Hi folks, as some of you know I purchased my car a few months ago. Most of my posts have been about fixing small things, often cosmetic. Well now I have my first significant mechanical problem. Hoping someone can offer some explanations for my current predicament. I am a decent hobbyist mechanic having restored a couple of British cars, but I am new to MB and know almost nothing about automatic transmissions. So, with that background here is what I experienced today.

Had not started the 280 in about two weeks. I jumped in the car, turned the key and the car started immediately. After letting it warm up for a few minutes, I shifted into reverse and backed out of the garage. I then shifted into drive (4th) and gave the car a little gas. Instead of easing forward, the car backed up! I tried some other forward gears with no effect. Car still moved backwards. I shifted into park and the car still moved in reverse. I then put the car in neutral and made the mistake of turning off the ignition. After thinking about the problem for a few minutes and coming up with nothing, and still in neutral, I tried to turned the ignition on only to find that the car would not start - just dead, doesn't fire at all. Then shifted into park and tried to start. Again, nothing - ignition light on, fuel pump pumping, but no firing.

I was able to put the car into neutral and push the it back into the garage. Never had any crunching of gears, no sounds from the transmission. It shifts normally from gear to gear, but I cannot tell if the car might go forward under power or not, because the car will not start.

Any suggestions for what I might explore before the flat bed is called?

Thanks very much.

Lin

ja17

• Platinum
  • USA, OH, Blacklick
Re: 1969 280SL automatic transmission issue
« Reply #1 on: October 27, 2013, 03:51:42 »