Author Topic: Antenna power  (Read 5246 times)

rob walker

Antenna power
« on: July 30, 2010, 17:31:00 »
I am in the process of removing an undesirable modern stereo and rewiring back to the original Blaupunkt radio.
I have removed the many wires for the modern and have located the main power feed to the old radio.
I need then to get power to the antenna, but the live feed that was connected was live all the time.
My undertsanding is that the correct wiring would only have live feed to run the antenna motor when the radio is turned on, is this correct? I dont really want the antenna up when the radio is not in use as this produces an anoying wind whistle noticable with the top down.

Where should the antenna take its power from?

• Platinum
  • Germany, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Tecklenburg
Re: Hirschmann Auta 6000U C98 - F108 electrical power
« Reply #1 on: July 30, 2010, 18:02:32 »
Hi Rob,

Not that I am an expert here ...
I guess you are referring to an areal / antenna like the original Hirschmanns and Bosch units ...

Your observation is correct. 8)

Usually there are three wires going to the antenna motor.

First one is constant current (permanent positive). Motor needs this for feed to drive the antenna out and in.
Second is "plus" coming from the radio which "tells" the motor by a relais-like mechanism to drive out the antenna.
If you turn off the radio this positive signal disappears and the relais-like stop-mechanism switches to the opposite pole which drives the motor (armature) the other direction to pull the antenna in.
Third one is ground.

That's what I remember ....
(hope I am right here)

Achim
Achim
(Germany)

al_lieffring

Re: Antenna power
« Reply #2 on: July 30, 2010, 18:41:30 »
Could you post a photo of the back of the Blaupunkt you are installing? maybee we can figure out where the antenna controll output is located.

rob walker

« Reply #3 on: July 31, 2010, 15:22:15 »
Attached front and back photos.