Author Topic: Air con-to fix or not to fix  (Read 27910 times)

Conor

Air con-to fix or not to fix
« on: May 26, 2013, 10:40:19 »
I am a new member to the SL group and am intending to purchase a 1971 280SL (usa model) .It is in good running condition but the air conditioner doesn't work.Since I live in UK and probably won't "need" it much is it important to get it fixed for the overall value of the car and also by having the air con working will it by any chance put extra "strain" on the engine that may lead to other problems caused?
Thanks for any advice-I am a relative newbie to this!

Jordan

• Platinum
  • Canada, ON, Jordan
Re: Air con-to fix or not to fix
« Reply #1 on: May 26, 2013, 13:26:32 »
Conor, welcome to the site and congratulations on your upcoming purchase.  I can only speak for myself but if you aren't going to use the air conditioner why fix it now, unless you plan on reselling the car in the next couple of years.  If you fix it and never use it for 10 or 20 years, it may not work once you want to eventually sell the car.  Of course if you plan to take the car onto the mainland for holidays etc, you may want to use the air, in which case fix it.  All depends on what your plans are down the road.  So now you know what to do.  ;D ::) ;)
Marcus
66 230SL  Euro 4 speed

TR

« Reply #2 on: May 26, 2013, 15:15:19 »
If you check out the Hagerty Insurance online car valuation tool and then click on "Vehicle Valuation Details" you will see under "Notes/Buzz" it says "+15% for a/c".  At least that is the case for a late model 280SL; I did not check the other models.  But at a 15% value-add it might be worth considering keeping it.  I've found an old Frigiking a/c unit can be brought up to a near-modern standard of performs for what I considered very reasonable cost.  You can now even get new, really nice, aluminum Frigiking placards for the front panel at reasonable cost.

Conor

« Reply #3 on: May 26, 2013, 22:01:19 »