Author Topic: 1970 280SL Starts cold, runs 4 minutes then stalls won't restart till cooled  (Read 3858 times)

CoreyJ

We have a 1970 280SL that has been in storage for nearly 20 years. Upon the first start up it will start cold fine, run fine for about 4 minutes then just stall like you turned off the ignition it is that sudden - and it will not re-start for about 30 minutes allowing it to cool. Leading up to this we drained and cleaned out the fuel tank, had the injectors professionally cleaned & tested, fuel filter replaced. Ignition wise new points and rotor. Seems to be as the temperature increases causes the failure. Could this be a WRD issue. I appreciate your thoughts of what to pursue. Thanks!

Pawel66

• Platinum
  • Poland, Mazowieckie, Konstancin-Jeziorna
I am not a qualified mechanic, so be careful with my advise, but I have been seeing similar issues many times and experienced some of them as well. With these symptoms (no hot start), especially after long time of no work, it may happen that fuel lines are still clogged, even though you drained the tank.

The simple test is to run the fuel pump for a couple of minutes to let it warm up, witch it off, detach the return fuel hose from its fitting in the tank, put it in some empty canister and run the fuel pump again to see if you get 0.7-1.0liter in 15 seconds. If you get 0.5 - 0.6 liter of fuel - engine is not getting enough fuel.

If the fuel flow is low, you have: filter in the fuel tank, screen in the inlet of the fuel pump and then the main filter to check. Sometimes intermediate filter is mounted between tank and fuel pump as well (I would do it if it is not). Sometimes the fuel pump is clogged. The return line may be clogged as well (may need to be blown with air - when detached form tank and with a piece of cloth around the end you insert the air gun).

There are a lot of posts on hot start issues.

Yes, the WRD may need fixing, but maybe it is good to see if the basics are there ok.
Pawel