Author Topic: transmission swap  (Read 8350 times)

seamus

transmission swap
« on: January 24, 2008, 08:35:39 »
Hello gentlemen and ladies, I have a question for y'all. I am a new owner of a '71 280sl with auto transmission, in hindsight wish I had gotten a manual. I was wondering if a 5-speed transmission from a '71 280se, saw one advertised, could be swapped out with my auto tranny? Is this the same transmission used on the Z5 pagodas, and if so would this be a very expensive thing to do? Would have to be done by mechanic, I'm not experienced enough to do this myself. Thanks for you help, Seamus

waqas

• Platinum
  • USA, TX, Austin
Re: transmission swap
« Reply #1 on: January 24, 2008, 10:01:23 »
Short answer: it can be done, if you've got all the parts from the 280se.

I don't believe the ZF 5-speed transmission was used on the 280se in '71; I think by then MB had their own 5-speed.

The expense of conversion could be high. You'll need to:
  • disconnect any and all auto tranny linkages with the throttle linkage
  • disconnect kick-down switch
  • disconnect oil lines to/from the radiator and plug holes
  • add a new pedal for the clutch (with associated holes/mounts in the firewall, etc)
  • add the master cylinder to pedal assembly
  • add a clutch fluid reservoir
  • gear/stick assembly and all mounts/seals
  • the propeller shaft length will likely need to be modified (unless you can find a suitable replacement elsewhere)
  • etc, etc...

You can see that it will take a lot of work and modification, but it can be done.

Personally (you did ask for opinions, right?  ;) ) I would leave this pagoda as-is in the original state and start looking for one with a manual transmission; once you find it, you can sell this one. You'll end up saving time and money, and you won't diminish the value of your car by modifying it so much from the original factory setup.

Waqas in Austin, Texas
Waqas (Wa-kaas) in Austin, Texas

JPMOSE

• Gold
  • USA, DE, Harbeson