W113 Pagoda SL Group > Drive train, fuel, suspension, steering & brakes

5 Speed Manual - Test Drive

(1/4) > >>

Wolfmann:
I was lucky enough to drive Mark Turnbull's absolutely outstanding 280 SL today. It is common knowledge that he has converted his car to run a Getrag five speed manual box without any cutting of the body and, if one obtains a spare shaft of some sort (I'm a lawyer - I don't understand these things!) no damage or irreversible change to the original auto unit either. The old box and brace plate are retained should one wish to change back although outside London I can't imagine why you'd want to !

The first gear ratio is perfect and the clutch engagement has just the correct amount of harshness to the bite, the gears are smooth to select and beautifully placed with a relatively short throw (reverse is off to the upper left). The car rips through the rev range, certainly giving its best above 2000 and making an intoxicating exhaust note above 3000 - It just gets better right up to 5000 where I felt compelled to change up as it wasn't my car and the roads were wet and greasy !

The engine really is suited to a manual box and I already regret spending the money I have on having my auto overhauled, then again I do live in London. The car feels far more sprightly than my 230 did although my engine was in poor condition. It is just easier to exploit the quite peaky characteristics of the engine - Don't misunderstand, there is plenty of torque but it just seems to go ballistic between 3 and 5 thousand. We were on a short road with limited time due to a fast approaching storm and no roof but I managed to get the car dropped into fifth and it appeared to be doing well over 70mph at about 2600 revs or thereabouts.

The note from Marks full stainless exhaust system is poetic, rorty but not common or loud. The car handles beautifully with very little body roll (this is my first proper drive in a sorted W113) which did surprise me.