Author Topic: Rust!!  (Read 14031 times)

scubadoc

Rust!!
« on: March 30, 2013, 02:57:35 »
I am new to my Pagoda, and to this forum. (see the new member intro) 

The 1967 230 has been in my family for almost 40 years, and I have been intrusted with its safekeeping.  I have found several area of rust on the car.  The passenger floorboard, the rear panel, the driver wheelwell, etc.  we are talking through and through rust not just surface stuff.  there had been some undercoating done, and I think the driver wheelwell was the result of an accident.  I know my dad had the driver floorboard already repaired, but he was not known for his car maintenance!

I intend to preserve this beautiful car, but not restore it to museum or even car-show quality.  I want my kids to take it to the prom, as I drove their Mom to our prom in this car 25 years ago.  I want a sound weekend warrior that I can show off, but am not afraid to take out on a questionably rainy day.

The main question is on the preservation.  Do I need to take it to a Pagoda purist, and have top of the line work done or can I have a quality respected shop do the work?  I have to put my 4 kids through college, and can't afford the full restoration, but may do it 15 years from now.  I never intend to sell this car, but will pass it down to one of my kids.

Any suggestions on a reputable shop in the Mass South Shore, Cape Cod, or South Coast areas?

Thanks!

Bonnyboy

• Gold
  • Canada, BC, North Vancouver
  • 1969 280sl Euro 4sp LSD
Re: Rust!!
« Reply #1 on: March 30, 2013, 15:23:27 »
Welcome to the club.     If you still want to be able to put your kids through college I expect that a full resto is way out of your budget at this time.