Author Topic: Replacing heater levers - HELP!  (Read 14694 times)

blairwag

Replacing heater levers - HELP!
« on: June 17, 2003, 23:19:17 »
Hi folks,
I'm a newbie to the site, group, and membership. I'm a newbie to SL 113 ownership, too, with my 1971 280 SL. First on the project list is to replace the 4 shattered heater levers.

I need 2 things:
1) recommendations on EXACTLY what heater levers to buy (colored acrylic, black acrylic, black soft-rubber) and where/who-from to by them from. I'm hoping "see you local MB dealer" willnot be near the top of the list.

2) procedure on how to do the job.

I'm looking for a document procedure, kind of a step by step! I'm not asking to be held by the hand, but I am looking for somethingto tell me, shoow me, and prevent me from hosing my first project. You know?

I've read 2 posts herein ("Heater Levers" by admin 01/05/2003 and "Dura-lever heater replacemnts??" by Wrongdog 03/04/2003). The post by admin is VERY informative. It's pretty much what I'm looking for, except it looks like it's for a 230 SL, which I understand has removable dash components that are not removable on my 280 SL.

I also have a copy of a Big Blue Book (Service Manual Passenger Cars Starting 1968 Series 108 - 109 - 111 - 113 Maintenance, Tuning, Unit Replacement; Printed August 1970). However, this book has no 83-2 section. Section 83 is called "Heating, Ventilation and Air-Conditioning", but it begins with group-job 83-11 Operation of Air Conditioning System. All of group (or section) 83 is dedicated strictly to A/C!!!! It doesn't have an 83-2 section describing what I need: Removal and Installation of Operating Assembly for Fresh Air Flaps, Mixed Air Flaps, Heat Exchanger, and Distribution box. Did I buy a bum book??? Is there another Big Blue Book or a Workshop Manual for Passenger Car Models Starting 1968 that Ineed to locate / buy?

Does anyone out there have a manual or document describing this procedure for a 1971 280 SL that you can share with me?