Author Topic: Opinions on Hagerty insurance coverage  (Read 20304 times)

Jim Donati

Opinions on Hagerty insurance coverage
« on: May 20, 2010, 04:03:30 »
Has anyone had any positive or negative experience with Hagerty as it relates to coverage on a classic weekend driver?

I would like other members opinions on collector or classic auto insurance coverage like Hagerty.  I currently have my 1970 280SL insured under my Kemper policy for my other personal (non classic) autos.  I have looked at switching to coverage that specializes in classic and collector cars, but am unsure if this type of coverage would meet my needs.  I like the concept of specifying a value I think my car is worth, but am concerned that coverage will be as I expect if I do drive the vehicle on weekends.

I have recently had my car repainted professionally with a high quality paint job, and although I do not plan to use it as a daily driver, I certainly plan to drive it several times a month across town or on short drives.

Jim  

« Last Edit: June 27, 2010, 09:30:14 by 280SL71 »

JamesL

• Platinum
  • United Kingdom, London, London
Re: Opinions on Hagarty insurance converage
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2010, 05:46:56 »
The DDK guys rave about Hegarty
http://www.ddk-online.com/phpBB2/viewtopic.php?t=20267

I am with Footman James and had no trouble with them
James L
Oct69 RHD 280 in DB906 with cognac leather

jameshoward

• Associate Member
  • Platinum
  • United States, New Jersey (formerly of London)
« Reply #2 on: May 20, 2010, 08:13:25 »
I am also with Footman James and whilst fortunately I've not had to claim, I have had to contact them. Their customer service is as close to apalling as I've experienced for an insurance company. I have never had a call answered in under 20 mins (I've called them 3 times in the past 4 weeks) and they are incredibly slow in answering emails (almost a week at a time to get a reply).